Health…and the Holidays

Pie….cake….dressing….greens…..these are a few of my favorite things.  As I sit here finishing up my second helping of meatless ball pasta (made with vegan “meatballs” from Publix), I can’t pretend that I am a guru on health.  I have never been the most active or the healthiest eater, but the older I get the more important health is to me even around the holidays.  Many people assume that because I was vegetarian for a few years (and now pescatarian), that my diet is super healthy, but it’s not….*please read second sentence again*.  I, too, have to be conscious of what I put into my body and make sure I stay as active as I can.  There are just a few things that I have been doing to maintain my health even the more as the end of the year approaches.

One is getting a personal trainer….and my personal trainer is a beast.  I knew that I was interested in personal training when I took my travel assignment in Georgia, but I was about 4 weeks in when I decided to get serious.  There are many benefits to personal training, but one of the main things is accountability.  Most days I go to the gym to train, I don’t want too…I’d rather stay in bed or lounge around the house but knowing that my trainer is there (and I’ve paid my dues) makes me get up out the bed.  And I feel so much better afterwards.  She gives me tips and advice, motivates me and pushes me past what I think my limits are.  Another benefit of training is learning exercises and how to properly perform them.  If you don’t know what you’re doing at the gym like me, not only does a trainer teach you an exercise, but they correct your posture so you can strengthen those weaker muscles and not injure yourself.  If you can’t afford training, I would seek out accountability with someone you know is serious about staying active.

Secondly, I’ve been drinking a lot more water.  With training, I need it but it also helps me avoid not drinking sugary juices and drinks as much.  I hardly ever buy juice/drink for my home/apt/hotel unless I’m making a smoothie.  Out of sight, out of mind?  Water really does help me stay fuller for longer.  Except it’s a little annoying having to use the restroom all the time.

Lastly I have been cooking at home more….even if it is a large pot of pasta for one…yikes! Anyway.  Many times I’ll even add veggies into my meals or drinks too.  If I make pasta or a soup, I’ll throw some spinach in there.  Same for blending my smoothies.  I try to avoid eating out too much especially with fried/greasy foods.  If I go out to eat, I’ll occasionally tell them to not put the dressings on there….like the mayo that comes on a veggie burger.  Now, doing these things doesn’t mean that I don’t indulge every now and again.  I am definitely going to eat me a slice or two (or three) of pie this holiday.  I don’t always deny my cravings or my feelings, but these small changes really do make a difference.

4 thoughts on “Health…and the Holidays”

  1. Thanks Gabi! This reassured me that the feeling I have been having of getting my health on track and staying on track is the definitely the right thing to do. I do not have to be perfect, but I at least need to try. Again thank you thank you for this post.

    Like

Leave a comment